Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

AFRIMMA 2017: Cameroon artistes fail to win award

The highly anticipated 4th edition of the biggest African music awards in the diaspora African Muzik Magazine Awards (AFRIMMA) 2017 has come and gone. 
The award ceremony was held on Sunday 8 October, 2017 at the House of Blues, Dallas, Texas USA.
This year’s award was disappointing for Cameroonian artistes, as none of them grasped a single award in the various categories they were nominated for. 
Cameroonian artist who were nominated for the award this year included; 
Stanley Enow , Magasco, Mr Leo, Daphne, Reniss, Mani bella, Shammack, and Brenda Derry.
This year’s award show was hosted by Basketmouth and Chipukeezy, and was a gathering of the best in African music, from Tiwa Savage to Fally Ipupa.
It witness performances from Falz, Kaffy, Scientific from Liberia, Tzy Panshak from Cameroon, C4 Pedro, as well as Nsoki, both from Angola.
Nigerian artiste Davido won the biggest prize of the night, taking home both the Artist of the Year award and the Song of the Year Award for “IF”.
See the full list of AFRIMMA 2017 winners below…
Best Male West Africa – Falz (Nigeria)
Best Female West Africa – Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)
Best Male East Africa – Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)
Best Female East Africa – Victoria Kimani (Kenya)
Best Male Central Africa -C4 Pedro (Angola)
Best Female Central Africa – Nsoki (Angola)
Best Male Southern Africa- Cassper Nyovest (South Africa)
Best Female Southern Africa – Babes Wodumo (South Africa
Crossing Boundaries with Music Award   C4 Pedro (Angola)
Best Newcomer -Nsoki (Angola)
Artist of The Year – Davido (Nigeria)
Best DJ Africa – Dj Spinall (Nigeria)
Best African Dj USA – Dj Tunez  (Nigeria)
Video of The Year -Fally Ipupa – Eloko Iyo Congo
Music Producer of The Year – Julz (Ghana)
Best African Dancer – Ghetto Triplets Kids  – Uganda
Song of The Year – Davido – IF (Nigeria)
Best Lusophone – C4 Pedro (Angola)
Best Francophone – Fally Ipupa  (Congo)
Best Sound Engineer -Sheyman (Nigeria)
Best Collaboration -Wizkid  ft Chris Brown – African Bad Girl (Nigeria & USA)
Transformational Leadership Award -Engineer Noah Dallaji
Best Rap Act  -Sarkodie (Ghana)
Dancehall Act of The Year  – Timaya (Nigeria)
Best Video Director – Daps (Nigeria)
Best Male North Africa- Amr Diab (Egypt)
Best African Dj –  Dj Spinall (Nigeria)
Best Gospel Artist -Nathaniel Bassey (Nigeria)
Best Female North Africa – Amani Swissi (Tunisia)
What's your reaction?

Leave a comment