Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Dance Music Awards nominations announced

The nominations for the first annual official Dance Music Awards South Africa have been released. South African fans voted for the favourites online. Now the top final nominees in each category can have been announced. The nominee selection was held entirely online. Competition for each category will be driven strictly by social media and online interaction.

Here are the nominees for the Dance Music Awards South Africa:

Smirnoff Best Male DJ

Kyle Watson
Chunda Munki
DJ Shimza
Black Coffee
Kyle Cassim

Smirnoff Best Female DJ 

Abby Nurock
DJ Zinhle
Lady Lea
Lady Sakhe

Best Producer 

Black Coffee
Kyle Watson
Ryan Murgatroyd
Da Capo

Best Live Act 

Black Motion
Good Luck
Pop Art
Mi Casa

Heineken Best Festival  

Spring Fiesta
Rocking the Daisies
Best Music Video (From Dance Artist)
Prince Kaybee Ft Lady Zamar – Charlotte
Strange Loving – Changes
TIMO ODV – Dancing Again
Bucie Ft Black Motion – Rejoice
Da Capo Ft Tresor – Speed of Sound

Best Male Vocalist of the Year

Timo ODV
Apple Gule

Smirnoff Best Female Vocalist of the Year 

Lady Zamar
Tamara Dey
Amanda Black
Jackie Queens

Best Record Label

Go Go Music
Chutney Records
Soulistic Music
House Afrika
Do It Now Recordings

Compilation of The Year

House Afrika Mzanzi 6
Fresh House Flava 9
Africa Get Physical
Kyle Watson Pres. The Low End Effect
Now Dance

Smirnoff Album of The Year 

Good Luck – Nature Within
Jullian Gomes – Late Dreamer
Timo ODV Origins
Jazzuelle – Circles
Chunda Munki – Interference

Power Play Remix of The Year

Tresor- Never Let Me Go (Mobi Dixion Remix)
DeMajor feat. Lizwi – Traveller (Kususa & Quetornik Official Remix)
Alicia Keys – In Common (Black Coffee Remix)
Dj Ganyani ft Laila – Talk To Me (Prince Kaybee Remix)
Dj Merlon feat. Black Coffee & Khaya Mthethwa – Reflections (Enoo Napa Remix)

Best International DJ 

Lars Behrenrath
DJ Snake
Dash Berlin

Best International Producer 

The Layabouts
Lars Behrenroth

Heineken Best Club of The Year

Electric Circus
Shimmy Beach
Toy Toy

Best House Record of the Year

Jullian Gomes – 1000 Memories
Chunda Munki – Interference
Sir Vincent Ft Lauren – Nirvana
DJ Thes – Man
Kyle Watson – Solace

Best Kwaito Record of the Year

Distruction Boyz – Madness (ft Tipcee)
Killer Kau – Tholukuthi Hey ft Mbali
Babes Wondumo – Wololo
DJ Gukwa ft Tipcee, Emza & DJ Tira – Amadada
OKMALUMKOOLKAT – Gqi ft. Amadando

Best EDM Record of the Year

Das Kapital – Bend It
Evida – You Gotta
Rocca & Martini – Sky
Royal K – Vices
Keystate – Calling

Power Play Best Underground Record of the Year 

Kat La Kat – Strange Signals
Jazzuelle Ft Lazarusman – Don’t Forget Me
Floyd Lavine – Masala
Strange Loving – Valentino Groove
Aero Manyelo – Mooki

Best Dance Radio Show Award

Kyle Worde – The 411 – Touch HD
In Das We Trust – 5FM
The Kyle Cassim Show – 5FM
The Players Club – Da Kruk – YFM
The Urban Beat – Metro FM

What's your reaction?

Leave a comment